The Legendary Duo Sasha and John Digweed Announce their new Spring CD releases on Ultra Records

Sasha – The emFire Collection:
Mixed, Unmixed & Remixed


A definitive view of Sasha’s emFire catalogue featuring originals, remixes and his award winning score to the surf film ‘New Emissions Of Light and Sound.

The launch of Sasha’s emFire label was undoubtedly one of the main talking points during the last half of 2007. Four original tracks were released and the discussion raged: which was best or least favourite be it at home or in a club? Was Mongoose really Sasha? And, of course, who killed Sparky? Now the debate is set to continue as Sasha releases ‘The emFire Collection’.

Disc 1 plays host to ‘The Remixes’, which invites four of the world’s most exciting producers to present their interpretations of the emFire catalogue by way of a totally unique twist. Each carefully selected artist was commissioned to provide two versions - a traditional club mix and alternative, leftfield mix. The result is a very special, duplicitous ride through the minds of Slam, Audion, Radio Slave and The Field totaling an unmixed 70 minutes. The anticipated, incredible results beg one question – which do you prefer?

Disc 2 features three exclusively edited originals and the previously unreleased ‘Spangled Rubdub’ of 'Coma' alongside Sasha’s 40 minute, mixed score to the surf film ‘New Emissions Of Light and Sound’. The score, which has never been released in audio format, recently took top honours at the X Dance Awards (www.x-dance.com) that ran in conjunction with the esteemed Sundance Film Awards and are effectively the Oscars equivalent for action sports films. A beautiful, haunting ride, the extended piece provides a fitting conclusion to this bumper emFire package.

Sasha – The emFire Collection: Mixed, Unmixed & Remixed is out May 6th on emFire / Ultra Records in North America.

Disc 1 - The Remixes

1) Coma (Slam Soma Coma Mix)
2) Park It In The Shade (Audion Deep Steeple Mix)
3) Who Killed Sparky? (Radio Slave's Brooklyn Dub Mix)
4) Mongoose (The Field's Floating Mix)
5) Coma (Slam Paragraph Mix)
6) Park It In The Shade (Audion Ain't Got No Friends Mix)
7) Who Killed Sparky? (Radio Slave's Panorama Garage Mix)
8) Mongoose (The Field's Disco Mix)

Disc 2 - The Originals & Bonus Score

1) Coma (Spangled Rubdub)
2) Park It In The Shade (Exclusive emFire Edit)
3) Who Killed Sparky? (Exclusive emFire Edit)
4) Mongoose (Exclusive emFire Edit)
5) New Emissions Of Light and Sound Film Score

John Digweed
Transitions Vol.4


John Digweed concludes the first chapter of his Transitions series with a bang…

Since it’s launch Transitions has become one of - if not - the most anticipated releases in the compilation calendar; over the past two years its single disc, twice-yearly format has provided dance music fans a regular, contemporary snapshot of John Digweed. Now the first chapter in the Transitions’ series reaches its conclusion with the highly anticipated fourth volume.

“This was perhaps the hardest one yet,” says Digweed, “The proximity between releases meant each new volume was strongly influenced by its predecessor - as we moved from one to the other they had to relate and make sense.”

So, a real challenge. Just how did John Digweed go about tackling it?

“I’ve developed the amount of tracks and layering over the series,” he elaborates, “And we’ve taken it to the next level with this latest volume, it’s the most intense and intrinsic yet, which meant replacements, additions, editing and a lot of time consuming assessments and re-assessments.”

Over the course of 22 tracks and 73 minutes John Digweed weaves a unique musical thread. From favourites such as Ink & Needle, Guy J and Pig & Dan through to welcome debuts from Henry Saiz, Myers Briggs or Soliquid, all are concisely constructed in the mix to the point where 3 are often playing at anyone time. Infact, due the resulting complexity, John Digweed decided to re-structure the trackmark points to better reflect the more developed passages – and so 22 records became 10 (see full tracklist below), as he elaborates, “In trackmarking this way I am able to highlight the unique qualities of the mix. Whilst it hopefully retains that signature Digweed sound, I’ve used modern production techniques to create an album that’s unlike anything you’ll ever hear me do in a club.”

And the future? “Let’s keep it about this latest volume for now,” John Digweed affirms, “Otherwise I think I’d be doing it a disservice!” We couldn’t agree more: Transitions Vol.4 is one of the most original compilations you’ll hear this year and a fitting finale to the series in its current guise…

John Digweed – Transitions Vol.4 is out on Ultra Records May 6th 2008

1. Julien Parise - A5B (Mirko Remix)
2. Henry Saiz - From Empty Lands Guy J – Geko
3. Jeff Bennett – In Spite Kabale und Liebe & Daniel Sanchez – Mumbling Yeah (Loco Dice Tribute Remix)
4. Nightguy – Pretty Face Henry Saiz – From Tangled Seas Myers Briggs – Forever
5. Sian - Wear Your Scars Like Medals Kim Runic – Suspicious Blue Two Lone Swordsmen – Shack 54 (Jet Project Remix)
6. Plasmik – Pitch It (Claude VonStroke Remix) Jamie Stevens - Keep Her Space (Smith & Selway's Control Mix)
7. Jerome Sydenham & Tiger Stripes - Elevation (Ink & Needle Remix) Guy J – Under Pressure
8. Pascal Feos & Marc Mirror – Rezolution Spector – Mineral Drive (Jamie Stevens Remix) Jörg Burger – Superpicture
9. Pig & Dan – Dreams Of Bells Emmanuel - Parade (Original Mix)
10. Soliquid – Piknic Bugz (Original Mix) Soliquid – Piknic Bugz (Gone Wild Mix)

No comments: