Everyone in the universe is buzzing about the new Girl Talk album so I figured I'd get involved in the fray. Mostly what I want you to pay attention to is the usage of the Radiohead online distribution model. I have a feeling this is going to become the de facto standard for independent artists' distribution. Caroline, ADA are you nervous because you should be if you aren't already.

Feed The Animals, the new album by Pittsburgh artist Girl Talk (aka Gregg Gillis), is now available digitally via a "pay what you want plan" on IllegalArt.net. The album will be officially released on CD by Illegal Art on September 23rd and on vinyl by Wham City Records this fall.

Download Girl Talk's Feed The Animals here: http://illegalart.net.
Any price grants the download of the entire album as high quality mp3s.
$5 or more includes the album as high quality mp3s, plus the album as one long track, which is how Gillis intended for people to listen to the album.
$10 or more includes all of the above and a packaged CD when its available in September.

For Gregg Gillis, the Girl Talk project has always been about embracing pop music. On his fourth album, Feed The Animals, Girl Talk celebrates pop to the extreme and continues his sonic evolution towards his party-infested live shows. The new album, which took two years to make, sees Gillis collecting material that was developed as part of his ever-changing live show. Using 300 samples in over 50 minutes, Gillis has created his most heavy-hitting, party-centric album yet. Throughout eight years of dedicating himself to creating sample-based music, Gillis has focused on the art of sampling and developing new tracks that have their own character, and surpass the original elements. He has refined his skill and technique and challenged himself with each new release, and in turn Gillis has solidified a specific musical identity and successfully created a particular style of music on record and in a live setting that excites listeners and makes them hungry for more.

Girl Talk has been known to underground audiences for several years, but it wasn't until 2006 with the release of Night Ripper that Girl Talk received recognition for his innovations and crossed over catching the attention of a much larger audience. Rolling Stone, SPIN, Blender, Pitchfork, and more included Night Ripper in their "best albums of 2006" lists and Girl Talk was solicited for remixes by artists including Beck, Tokyo Police Club, Grizzly Bear, Simian Mobile Disco, Peter Bjorn & John, and Of Montreal. From Wayne Coyne of The Flaming Lips nominating him for the Shortlist Music Prize to Representative Mike Doyle speaking about him to Congress (in relation to copyright laws), Gillis has quickly emerged from his underground Pittsburgh roots and become a public figure.

Many would be surprised to learn that prior to the release of Night Ripper, Girl Talk would play shows to 0 to 30 people in half-empty basements. He'd play those shows like he was playing to thousands, but only few knew what a Girl Talk live show was really all about. Now it is widely known that Girl Talk performances oftentimes feature the stage being mobbed with a sweaty mass of dancers who surround Gillis as he triggers samples and creates mixes, new and old, out of loops from his hard drive. Such performances have quickly become one of the most entertaining and exhilarating live shows many have experienced as Girl Talk has the extraordinary ability to get the crowd ecstatic and keep the thrill going for the entire concert. In the past two years, Girl Talk has been be booked by major festivals (Coachella, Lollapalooza, Bonnaroo, Virgin, All Points West, Pitchfork, DEMF, etc.) and with roughly 200 live shows over the last couple of years, Gillis has consistently played larger venues to capacity crowds (every date on his 2007 North American tour with Dan Deacon sold out).

1. Play Your Part (Pt. 1)
2. Shut The Club Down
3. Still Here
4. What It's All About
5. Set It Off
6. No Pause
7. Like This
8. Give Me A Beat
9. Hands In The Air
10. In Step
11. Let Me See You
12. Here's The Thing
13. Don't Stop
14. Play Your Part (Pt. 2)

Girl Tour Tour Dates:
Thu. Jun. 26 Hattiesburg, MS @ Thirsty Hippo
Fri. Jun. 27 Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
Sat. Jun. 28 Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Fri. Jul. 11 Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
Sat. Jul. 12 Aspen, CO @ Belly Up
Wed.Jul. 23 Victoria, BC @ Sugar
Thu. Jul. 24 Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
Fri. Jul. 25 Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party
Sat. Jul. 26 Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater w/ Panther, Monkey Trick
Sun. Aug. 3 Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza - Citi Stage
Fri. Aug. 8 Jersey City, NJ @ All Points West Festival - Liberty State Park

No comments: